Reconstruction of the Rajagopuram
The RajaGopuram was first constructed by Sri Krishna Devaraya in the year AD 1516, on the Eastern side of the SriKalahasti Temple, in the Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh. Over the years the gopuram started delveloping cracks. In the year 2010 after the cyclone Laila battered the region, the gopuram’s structural integrity had been compromised and an expert committee ruled that it should be brought down.
Recognising the humanitarian work done by the CVR foundation, the Government of Andhra Pradesh assigned to it the responsibility of constructing this iconic structure.
The construction of the 90 ft long 65 ft wide and 144 ft tall RajaGopuram was carried out in close consultation with Agama Shastra experts. The construction of the Gopuram was carried out without the use of chemicals. To add strength to the structure, a mixture of limestone sand and jaggery were used. The best quality of granite stone from a quarry in Chilkalurpeta, in Guntur District of Andhra Pradesh was used and expert sculptors from Tamil Nadu were called upon to sculpt the sculptures on the gopuram.
The CVR foundation considered the construction of the RajaGopuram to be its spiritual responsibility and ensured the timely and successful construction of the RajaGopuram.